Skip to content

How Does Cisco Meraki Licensing Work?

How Does Cisco Meraki Licensing Work?

In this article, we will delve into the details of Cisco Meraki licensing and explore the various options available for businesses. Whether you are already using Cisco Meraki products or considering implementing them, understanding licensing is crucial for optimizing your network infrastructure.

How does Cisco Meraki licensing work?

Cisco Meraki licensing is a subscription-based model that grants users access to the extensive features and functionalities of Cisco Meraki cloud-managed networking solutions. Let’s take a closer look at how this licensing system operates.

1. Licensing Tiers: Essential, Advanced, and Enterprise

Cisco Meraki offers three main licensing tiers: Essential, Advanced, and Enterprise. Each tier provides different levels of access to features and services, allowing businesses to choose the most suitable option based on their specific needs.

Essential License

The Essential license is the base tier offered by Cisco Meraki. It includes fundamental features such as cloud-based monitoring, alerts, and basic security functionalities. This license level is ideal for businesses seeking essential network management capabilities without advanced features.

Advanced License

The Advanced license builds upon the Essential license, offering enhanced features like application traffic shaping, content filtering, and more advanced security options. This tier is recommended for organizations that require additional control over their network traffic and security measures.

Enterprise License

The Enterprise license is the highest tier of licensing provided by Cisco Meraki. It encompasses all the features available in the Essential and Advanced licenses, along with additional capabilities like SD-WAN, advanced security services, and intelligent network analytics. This license level is suitable for enterprises with complex networking requirements and a need for comprehensive management and security features.

2. License Duration and Renewals

Cisco Meraki licenses are typically valid for one, three, five, or ten years, depending on the chosen licensing term. Once the initial license period expires, businesses must renew their licenses to maintain uninterrupted access to Cisco Meraki’s features and services.

To ensure a seamless renewal process, Cisco Meraki offers multiple options, including manual license renewal, automatic renewal, and co-termination. Manual renewal involves manually extending the license term, while automatic renewal enables licenses to be automatically renewed based on predetermined preferences. Co-termination allows businesses to align license expiration dates, simplifying the renewal process for multiple licenses.

3. License Portability

One of the significant advantages of Cisco Meraki licensing is its portability across different devices. With a valid license, businesses can easily transfer their licenses from one Cisco Meraki device to another within the same licensing tier, making it convenient to upgrade or replace hardware without the need for additional licenses.

4. Co-Termination and License Stacking

For businesses managing multiple licenses, Cisco Meraki provides co-termination and license stacking features. Co-termination allows businesses to consolidate their license expiration dates, simplifying the renewal process. License stacking allows organizations to stack multiple licenses of the same type to increase the overall device count supported by those licenses.

5. License Renewal Notifications

To ensure businesses stay informed about upcoming license expirations, Cisco Meraki sends renewal notifications well in advance. These notifications serve as a reminder to renew licenses promptly, preventing any disruption in service.

6. License Transferability

Cisco Meraki licenses are transferable between organizations, allowing businesses to easily transfer licenses when undergoing mergers, acquisitions, or restructuring. However, the transfer must adhere to Cisco Meraki’s terms and conditions.

FAQs about Cisco Meraki Licensing

Here are some frequently asked questions about Cisco Meraki licensing, along with their answers:

Cisco Meraki licenses can be purchased directly from authorized Cisco Meraki partners or through Cisco Meraki's official website.

Yes, it is possible to upgrade your license tier at any time by contacting Cisco Meraki support or your authorized Cisco Meraki partner.

Yes, it is possible to have different license tiers within a network. Each device can have its own license tier based on the specific requirements of that device.

If your license expires, you will lose access to the advanced features and functionalities provided by Cisco Meraki. However, basic network functionality will still be available.

Yes, Cisco Meraki licenses are transferable between organizations, provided the transfer complies with Cisco Meraki's terms and conditions.

Yes, Cisco Meraki offers a free trial program that allows businesses to experience the features and benefits of Cisco Meraki products before committing to a license.

Exploring Cisco Meraki: Brochures, Licensing, and More

Take a look at the following brochures to learn more about Cisco Meraki’s products and services:


In conclusion, Cisco Meraki licensing plays a vital role in unlocking the full potential of Cisco Meraki’s cloud-managed networking solutions. By choosing the right license tier and understanding the nuances of licensing terms, businesses can leverage advanced features, robust security measures, and streamlined network management capabilities. Whether you are a small organization or a large enterprise, Cisco Meraki licensing offers the flexibility, scalability, and control required to enhance your network infrastructure.

Remember, proper licensing ensures uninterrupted access to Cisco Meraki’s extensive range of features, empowering businesses to optimize their network performance, enhance security, and achieve their goals with ease.